The Cherwell School
In this section...

Year Leaders/Deputy Year Leaders

There are seven Year Leaders at The Cherwell School. Their role is to ensure that the School’s values and standards are promoted and maintained throughout every aspect of the school day.

The Year Leaders monitor the progress of each student in their year group and work closely with families to support students throughout their school life. Miss Timms (Deputy Headteacher, Student Experience and Wellbeing), overviews the work of the Year Leaders and holds overall responsibility for excellent standards of behaviour and attendance across the school. Mrs Alexander, Assistant Headteacher has oversight of the Sixth Form and overviews the work of the Year Leaders of Years 12 and 13.

The Year Leaders lead a team of tutors who meet with their tutor groups for fifteen minutes every morning. During this time, students undertake assembly once a week, Tutor activities related to the assembly topic as well as group team building activities whilst tutors are able to spend time with individuals and groups of students to monitor their academic progress and wellbeing.  Any additional intervention needed by individual students can also take during this period of daily tutor time.

The main work of the Year Leader, with the support of tutors and our excellent Deputy Year Leaders, is to monitor the academic progress and pastoral wellbeing of each student. Through this support team, students will be guided appropriately through the key stages of their time with us – for example, transition from Primary School, choosing GCSE Options, advice on work experience placements and post-16 possibilities. Year Leaders, Deputy Year Leaders and tutors will move up the school with their tutor groups, becoming experts in the needs of each particular year, and thus able to offer high quality advice and guidance to each student.

We have teaching Year Leaders supported by non-teaching Deputy Year Leaders. The Year Leaders and Deputy Year Leaders are:

Year Group Role Contact Email Address
Year 7      
Hopkins michael Year Leader Mr Michael Hopkins mhopkins@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Wells jacqui Deputy Year Leader Mrs Jacqui Wells jwells@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Year 8      
Kelbrick fiona Year Leader Ms Fiona Kelbrick fkelbrick@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Knight sherry Deputy Year Leader Mrs Sherry Knight sknight@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Year 9      
Brown luke Year Leader Mr Luke Brown lbrown@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Goble coralie Deputy Year Leader Mrs Coralie Goble cgoble@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Year 10      
King vanda Year Leader Ms Vanda King vking@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Ormrod dan Deputy Year Leader Mr Dan Ormrod dormrod@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Year 11      
Ewen joe Year Leader Mr Joe Ewen jewen@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Kidd janet Deputy Year Leader Mrs Janet Kidd jkidd@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Year 12      
Rapson emma Year Leader Mrs Emma Rapson erapson@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Fisher helen Deputy Year Leader Mrs Helen Fisher hfisher@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Year 13      
Lawfull clark Year Leader Mr Clark Lawfull clawfull@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk
Trzin dajana Deputy Year Leader Miss Dajana Trzin dtrzin@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk

 

Deputy Year Leaders are an integral aspect of the School’s commitment to supporting every student who joins our community.

As non-teaching members of staff the Deputy Year Leaders are able to work closely with their linked year group in order to implement any support that may be required for students. There are seven Deputy Year Leaders who each work with students in specific year groups. Deputy Year Leaders support the seven teaching Year Leaders.

On a daily basis the Deputy Year Leaders and Year Leaders will monitor the attendance and behaviour of students in their year group. They form a key link between families and the school, as well as being a bridge for our wider links with external supporting agencies.

Please make direct contact with the Deputy Year Leader for your child’s year group should you wish to report absence, have any issues to do with friendship groups or your child’s wellbeing in the school. Deputy Year Leaders liaise closely with Year Leaders and teaching staff, as needed, to ensure that all of our students receive excellent support and pastoral care throughout their time with us.

The Year Leaders’ contact details are as follows:

Year Group Contact Email Address
Year 7 Mrs Jacqui Wells

Jwells@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk

Year 8 Mrs Sherry Knight

sknight@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk

Year 9 Mrs Coralie Goble

cgoble@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk

Year 10 Mr Dan Ormrod

dormrod@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk

Year 11 Mrs Janet Kidd

jkidd@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk

Year 12 Mrs Helen Fisher

hfisher@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk

Year 13 Miss Dajana Trzin

dtrzin@cherwell.oxon.sch.uk

 

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now

×